Email High School Principals on Admissions

For this year’s high school admissions, the Mayor announced that “In consultation with their school communities, screened high schools can choose to remove their screens, utilize the Educational Option admissions method, or maintain academic screening.”

It is important that high school principals hear from incoming parents. Please email principals to let them know that you wish for them to maintain academic screening at their schools.

Three Easy Steps
1. Find the email address of the high school principal here.
2. Copy/paste the suggested email text. Feel free to personalize it.
3. Repeat for each school your child is applying to.

Email Recipients: Look up the high school and the principal email here.
Or scroll to the bottom of this page for the list by borough.

Subject: Please Keep Your School’s Screened Admissions

Dear Principal,

I am a parent of a middle school student who believes that all children deserve appropriate academic support, including those students who learn at an accelerated pace. Sadly, given the average NYC class size and financial deficits, it is impossible to achieve this support without academic grouping.

Therefore, as we look toward high school applications, I implore you to maintain academic screens at your school. We have months of pre-Covid data to use, as well as prior years’ test scores, to ensure that your school is able to provide the support you have successfully provided to students for years.

Thank you for your consideration and we look forward to applying.

Sincerely,

—————————————

Below are lists of NYC high schools that use Screened or Audition as their Admissions Method:
(Note that your student will apply to specific programs in the high school; admissions method varies by program. Please do your research https://www.myschools.nyc/en/schools/high-school/)

Manhattan High Schools

47 The American Sign Language and English Secondary Schoolwshama@schools.nyc.gov
Art and Design High Schoolereingo@schools.nyc.gov
Bard High School Early Collegemlerner@bhsec.bard.edu
Baruch College Campus High Schoolperezkatz.alicia@bcchsnyc.net
Beacon High SchoolEGreene7@schools.nyc.gov
Central Park East High Schoolmmessi@cpe-hs.org
Chelsea Career and Technical Education High SchoolKMaxwell@chelseahs.org
City College Academy of the ArtsBdrysdale@schools.nyc.gov
Clinton School, Thejlevin@theclintonschool.net
Columbia Secondary SchoolAVayda@schools.nyc.gov
East Side Community Schoolmarkf@eschs.org
Eleanor Roosevelt High Schoolinfo@erhsnyc.net
Fiorello H. LaGuardia High School of Music & Art and Performing Artsyvasconcelos@schools.nyc.gov
Frank McCourt High Schoolms.salzberg@fmhsnyc.org
Frederick Douglass Academyafullerton2@schools.nyc.gov
Gramercy Arts High SchoolBFaughnan@gramercyhs.org
Gregorio Luperon High School for Science and Mathematicsydelaro@schools.nyc.gov
High School for Dual Language and Asian Studieslyan@schools.nyc.gov
High School for Health Professions and Human Servicesewasilewski@schools.nyc.gov
High School of Fashion Industries, Thedsilva3@schools.nyc.gov
Humanities Preparatory Academyhilda@humanitiesprep.org
Institute for Collaborative Education (ICE)ICEadmissions@gmail.com
Manhattan / Hunter Science High SchoolEKlein8@schools.nyc.gov
Manhattan Bridges High SchoolMRIVERA155@SCHOOLS.NYC.GOV
Manhattan Center for Science and MathematicsRtorres2@schools.nyc.gov
Manhattan Village Academyecho@schools.nyc.gov
Millennium High Schoolcmcevoy3@schools.nyc.gov
N.Y.C. Lab School for Collaborative Studiesmlynch@nyclabschool.org
N.Y.C. Museum Schoolmuseumschooltours@gmail.com
New Explorations into Science, Technology and Math High School (NEST+m)mlynch21@schools.nyc.gov
NYC iSchooladmissions@mail.nycischool.org
Park East High Schoolmedmonds@parkeasths.org
Professional Performing Arts High School (PPAS)admissions@ppasshare.org
Repertory Company High School for Theatre Artsmfram@schools.nyc.gov
School of the Future High Schooljrutman@sof.edu
Special Music Schoolhsadmissions@specialmusicschool.org
Talent Unlimited High Schoolgagstetter.w@tuhs.nyc
Thurgood Marshall Academy for Learning and Social Changepamoakoa@schools.nyc.gov
Wadleigh Secondary School for the Performing & Visual Artsknorman3@schools.nyc.gov
West End Secondary Schoolwessadmissions@gmail.com
Young Women’s Leadership School (TYWLS)admissions@tywls.org

Queens High Schools

Aviation Career & Technical Education High School24q610@schools.nyc.gov
Baccalaureate School for Global Educationkjohnso2@schools.nyc.gov
Bard High School Early College Queensvthomson@schools.nyc.gov
Bayside High Schoolmathy@baysidehighschool.org
Frank Sinatra School of the Arts High Schoolgrafelfrankel@schools.nyc.gov
High School for Construction Trades, Engineering and ArchitectureLGordon6@schools.nyc.gov
High School for Law Enforcement and Public Safetylvander@schools.nyc.gov
John Adams High Schoolqwitt@schools.nyc.gov
Martin Van Buren High SchoolTMartinez3@schools.nyc.gov
Middle College High School at LaGuardia Community Collegejgonzalez10@schools.nyc.gov
Queens Gateway to Health Sciences Secondary SchoolJHenry2@schools.nyc.gov
Queens School of Inquiry, TheRMoyano@schools.nyc.gov
Queens Technical High School24Q600@schools.nyc.gov
Scholars’ Academymsmyth@scholarsnyc.com
Thomas A. Edison Career and Technical Education High Schooltaedisononline@gmail.com
Townsend Harris High SchoolBCondon@schools.nyc.gov
William Cullen Bryant High SchoolRRojas22@schools.nyc.gov
York Early College Academylperry5@schools.nyc.gov
Young Women’s Leadership School, Astoria (TYWLS)admissions@tywls-astoria.org
Young Women’s Leadership School, Queens (TYWLS)VBurdier@tywlsqueens.org

Brooklyn High Schools

Bedford Academy High Schoolptate@schools.nyc.gov
Benjamin Banneker AcademyKkwateng@schools.nyc.gov
Boerum Hill School for International Studies, Thebhsadmissions@k497.org
Brooklyn College Academyslajara@schools.nyc.gov
Brooklyn High School for Law and Technologyvpriatnohohl@bklawtech.com
Brooklyn High School of the Artsenrollment@brooklynartshs.nyc
Digital Arts and Cinema Technology High Schoolcfox7@schools.nyc.gov
Dr. Susan S. McKinney Secondary School of the Artsadmissions@mckinneyssa.com
East New York Family AcademyRHornik@schools.nyc.gov
Fort Hamilton High SchoolNMakkar@schools.nyc.gov
High School for Public Service: Heroes of Tomorrowataylor@schools.nyc.gov
James Madison High Schoolrtroiso@schools.nyc.gov
Kingsborough Early College SchoolKHoffman3@schools.nyc.gov
Leon M. Goldstein High School for the Sciencesadmissions@lmghs.org
Medgar Evers College Preparatory Schoolmwiltsh@schools.nyc.gov
Millennium Brooklyn High Schoolkconway@schools.nyc.gov
Science, Technology and Research Early College High School at Erasmus (STAR)DLombard@schools.nyc.gov
Young Women’s Leadership School of Brooklyn (TYWLS)admissions@tywlsbrooklyn.org

Bronx High Schools

University Heights Secondary Schoolhjoseph4@schools.nyc.gov
Belmont Preparatory High Schoolinfo@belmontprephs.org
Bronx Early College Academy for Teaching & Learningawashington2@schools.nyc.gov
Bronx High School for Medical Sciencejburgos10@schools.nyc.gov
Celia Cruz Bronx High School of Music, Thedfink2@schools.nyc.gov
Cinema School, Thepmoore@tcs-nyc.org
Fordham High School for the Artsfordhamhsarts@gmail.com
Hostos-Lincoln Academy of Sciencevmarano@schools.nyc.gov
In-Tech Academy (M.S. / High School 368)highschool21@in-techacademy.org
Marble Hill High School for International Studiesireyes@marblehillschool.org
Riverdale / Kingsbridge Academy (Middle School / High School 141) (RKA)admissions@rka141.org
Theatre Arts Production Company Schoolvgarcia9@schools.nyc.gov
Young Women’s Leadership School of the Bronx (TYWLS)info@tywlsbronx.org

Staten Island High Schools

Port Richmond High Schoolfotto@schools.nyc.gov
Susan E. Wagner High Schoolzclemente@schools.nyc.gov

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *